top of page

Viewpoint Colour/ Zine Adaptation

Updated: Apr 26, 2020

The Viewpoint Colour magazine is created by View Publications. As you can tell from its name, it is a unique magazine devoted to colour.


Viewpoint Colour caters to all colour conscious industries, and this magazine provides visual inspiration, direction and a global perspective on colour from the world’s leading colour experts. From my research, I have begun to notice the impact colour has on its audience.


"Colour is the single most powerful communication tool, influencing 50% – 85% of ideas and product purchase decisions. With 80% of human experience filtered through the eyes, visual cues are vital in getting a message across. Nothing does this better than the thoughtful use of colour. Pivotal in the design process and an essential element to a successful design strategy, colour should be considered from the moment the materials are being developed and should be a conscious part of every level of decision making from the raw materials that go into the product to the packaging it leaves the store in". -https://www.bruil.info/product/viewpoint-colour-subscription/

This magazine supplies critical and actionable colour intelligence, which I have used to influence my ideas towards the Zine I am creating for Endgame. The reason I have taken influence by issue 07 in this current pandemic, is because it shines a massive spotlight on to the topic of environmentalism. Realising that sustainability is essential to our survival, rather than being a choice.


Preloved rejects the concept of newness in favour of repair, reuse and resale, a concept that I have been keen to explore throughout my work this year. I feel like using this as a ready-made like my magazine experiments prior, I will be able to abstract this idea of using existing textiles, materials and products, alongside images I feel fit directly into the pattern of 'the feminine touch', in hopes to create their own unique look for my zine. This will be a way to highlight how impactful new magazines are from the industries they work alongside, to their representation of women as a commodity.


Preloved embraces imperfection and irregularity, something we see less of in typical magazines, and they reveal innovative ways of building colour themes and material story ideas from pre-loved resources.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page