top of page

Screenprinting/ Material Experiments

Updated: Apr 26, 2020

Learning how to screenprint was inspiring for my practice, although I chose a simple design I enjoyed the process of blacking out the image to create the different layers of my piece. I found that ink worked the best to completely blackout the body, as paint and pens were just too thin and ended up being see-through. This would have meant my design printed patchy and not as refined. When I came to printing I found it wasn't so easy to use registration points as both my layers were on the same screen. To make this easier I put down two sheets of acetate and lined my paper up to the background print and then the print to the outline, this meant I could line up the outline perfectly to the print or play around with placement more, and know exactly how the print would come out.

Below are some examples of the more refined prints, looking at colour density and placement, these were my most successful and I will probably print more to sell.


From the success of these prints I thought I would make it more applicable to my practice and try printing on products. The most successful outcome was the tote bag I printed on. I also decided I would print on a t-shirt - the first layer went well and filled all the grooves nicely, despite not using a textiles screen. However, when I came to do the black outline I pressed the squeegee down to hard, which caused the black ink to bleed all over the top, creating a mess. Safe to say that this wasn't a success like the others, but I am inspired to try it on different material t-shirts to see if I can do any better.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page