top of page

Plastics and Heat

Updated: Apr 26, 2020

These 2 pieces are experiments from my Material Matters Work. Using the clingfilm as a hint to the plastics left after garment making and I thought it would be interesting to see how to certain processes. I began by unthreading clothing and sewing into the clingfilm and stretching it out, I realised that clingfilm as a material is more durable than I thought, but it didn't have the effect I wanted. So I tried experimenting with the glue gun. I placed the clingfilm over magazine titles I had torn out, which I thought could be adapted and fit with the idea of the fashion industry. This was an interesting process because hot glue is unpredictable, starting with 'Labour of Love' I found it difficult to trace the letters and it folded into each other in places so got stuck. I then decided to try it with a title in capitals where I had more space, this then meant that the plastic started to shrink and melt from the heat of the glue, which gave unintentional quirks to the piece. Overall, this was a fun experiment to see how the material changed itself over the process of being put in direct heat.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page