top of page

Sculpture Building

Updated: Apr 14, 2020



I had an idea in my head and I thought I would be able to remake an image that someone sent me, in hopes of boosting their self-confidence. My initial intention was to make a sculpture like the Venus figures that have been around for centuries, this would allow the person I was creating it of to realise what their body shows is a natural figure and nothing to be ashamed of.

For this, I decided to buy terracotta clay, but it didn't give the effect I wanted when layered onto a scrim, so spontaneously I decided to paint it white without thinking that the clay was still wet. It left me with this almost wish-wash effect across the clay where the paint had mixed and somehow gave it this meaty quality which I hadn't intended on. This gave me the idea to further the point of women's bodies being looked at like meat and how wrong this is.


Completed Idea:


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page