top of page

'What You Consider Ugly.'

Updated: Apr 14, 2020



‘What you consider ugly.’


Society,

At 11, you said I’d never be as beautiful as my friend. At 15, you told me going through puberty late was wrong. At 17, I truly believed that I was ugly. At 19, I learned to love myself. I hope they do the same. We strive for your approximation of beauty. But even then, are we good enough? We’re trained to notice flaws/ imperfections within ourselves. Replicating others has become an instinct, immune to acceptance and left to settle for wanting a likeness to anything but ourselves. You can’t define us anymore, we are beautiful, and we are strong. Our bodies may not be perfect for you, but they are to us. We will prove you wrong. This piece goes beyond your stereotype. With no sexual objectification, real beauty can shine through. Each cast shows how one size really doesn’t fit all.

Love, Danika


I created the piece 'What you consider ugly' as a statement piece against society and its standards. The title highlights the issue that you will never be good enough under these standards and therefore society must view us all as ugly. The contradictory content of having very real and genuine breast casts plays on the idea that we're not meant to consider 'perfect' because we are all individuals and that is perfect in its own way. The description to my piece is a letter I wrote myself, to show how I will no longer fall for the lies and manipulations that you're told to follow, and I will no longer believe I'm what's called 'ugly', so therefore no one else should either.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page