top of page

Bargehouse Install

Updated: Apr 26, 2020

After an early morning, my Bargehouse installation was extremely stressful. Having to stitch lots of tags on to the bottom of my prints took a very long time and a lot of tears. Before the installation, I had prepared them in an order that I wanted them to hang, so I knew what it would like beforehand. When I was hanging it up, I found that it was difficult to get my prints to stay flat against the wall because it was cold and my prints started to buckle in the corners. To fix this I decided to tape them, which didn't seem to work the way I wanted it to either. Eventually, I was able to leave happy with my piece after 3 different people helped me stitch everything on and it did manage to stay hanging for the entirety of the show, thankfully.


I am really happy with how it shows my ideas. Using appropriated imagery I was trying to highlight the idea of adverts and how they are constantly making you believe you need everything. I think the delicacy of the prints against the tags works well, it's a subtle suggestion of an advert against something we all can relate to. The use of the hanger again is a way of displaying it as some sort of product, with the quote 'All I Ever Wanted Was Everything' hitting home that we are all guilty of wanting more than we can have or even afford. It seems that only true happiness can come from the constant process of buying more and more for the body.


3 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page