top of page

Possibilities of Mediums and Crit Review

Updated: Jun 8, 2021


I thought about how I could reflect myself in my practice a lot more, and decided to cross the work I do outside of uni with my current works and personal confessions of myself as a female in current society. With such a detailed collage I decided to project the piece onto the paper on my bedroom wall to make sure proportions and elements kept the same quality as the original.


My style is hyper realist and I wanted to recreate this collage in this way because it already held a surrealist aesthetic to it, which I thought I could heighten by drawing.

I was really happy about the way this piece was going, but I still felt that some contexts had been lost in its creation and I knew I would have to think about its presence in my work if it didn't 100 percent fit with the rest of my practice. I decided to present this works to both Yr3 Fine Art and MA Fine Art in hopes of gaining some peer feedback to find out what it was missing.


I presented it alongside one of my smaller collages to see how they fit together.

In my feedback I noticed a recurring theme of the fact that the collage was successful enough as it was and the further reproduction of it was just unnecessary time because it didn't add anything to the work. I thought this may be why I felt so disconnected from it and why I stopped putting all my effort into it. Despite them saying that the reproduction felt lost, it was discussed that maybe just printing the image lost its qualities aswell, so we discussed the elements of it being screen-printed as an extension of the print medium it once was. After evaluating this work in my space and other people's opinions, I decided that I would produce this series of works as screen-prints instead.







5 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page