top of page

Install and Work Preparation - Setbacks

Updated: Jun 8, 2021

At the stage of preparing for my install, I came across a few problems with the space and my work.


The wall as you entered was the last wall that I decided to paint. As I started to paint I noticed the wall bubbling, this was because the wall was painted previously over wallpaper. So rather than just painting, I had to fully strip the wall of wallpaper. This was a long and tedious process but it meant that the wall looked better in the end for my install, even I did make more mess after already clearing up.

At this time I also had worries with the work that was going on this wall. I scanned in my collages at 1200 dpi and processed them through Photoshop into halftone and bitmap. After doing this though I was worried about the quality of the final image, as they'd already come from quite low quality. My main fear was that it wouldn't print clearly or that it would lose all of the clarity you can see on the grafolac film below.

My next challenge was being able to print a screen that is over A0 in size. I had to clamp this into the print table and use an arm support to ink the screen because it was too big for me to reach over. I was worried that this would lose pressure and the print wouldn't be as strong. Fortunately, I was able to get some help, so I could maintain the pressure across the whole of the screen and not get patches. The only problem I had with this process from here was the heat in the print room that resulted in the ink drying in the screen. As seen below on the left print, this meant it printed extremely faint and you could see all of the smears from where I flooded the screen. I realised for the next screen to have all the paper ready beforehand and print quickly.


I was pleased with the quality of the final prints because they had an aesthetic quality like they do when being printed in magazines, but I think they are more successful because of the interesting texture they have produced.


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page