top of page

Material Matters

Updated: Apr 16, 2020


'No More Excuses' is a piece I created with inspiration from Margate, after looking at how sculpture can be abstract and make you think, I changed the vision of my piece. Originally, I was inspired to look at creating garments to highlight the consumption of these, and the impact it has on our environment, Then I was inspired to physically challenge the notions of the fast fashion industry rather than replicate it.


This piece highlights how much plastic is released from clothing when it's washed, this is an impact caused by humans. I wrapped myself and Trudie up to symbolise the body and the plastic suffocation we cause to the environment and oceans. The bodies are reinforced with sellotape to hold them together and then are stuffed up with clothes and commercial plastic we use. The aim of this is to highlight consumerism of fast fashion, now becoming a lifestyle, and we are engulfed by it. The sculpture laying down is of me and how I personally am weighed down by the constant production of fast fashion that we are pushed into purchasing. I was hoping that by being outside it would be a victim to the weather and become wet, the plastic would repel the water, but the clothes would absorb it, there is a bigger issue of water pollution from the fashion that could be addressed from this later.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page