top of page

Hidden Perspectives

Updated: Apr 16, 2020



The Hidden Perspectives Pop-Up show.

By Joy, Wenche, Karen, Alinah and I.


We felt our work all highlighted elements of every day that are often untalked about or hidden.


My work took influence from 'Money Buys Happiness', my previous series. In this piece I took the drawings and decided to cast them in a web, each image highlights an advert from a magazine that looks at how the price of clothing makes a model appear happier. This technique of advertisers makes their viewer feel that in order to be that happy, they must buy into that exact lifestyle.


In this web, the images incline as they go up in value, ranging from 23 pounds to 2536 pounds. What I found interesting after sculpting this piece was how the drawing at the bottom of the web looked less happy than the beaming smile on the top.


Receiving feedback was inspiring, I learnt that other people saw my work as an industry. The way it arches over the entrance to the space means that the viewer has to work their way around it, it almost becomes a web to trap the consumer in, much like the fashion industry does.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page